5 Vegan Donut Recipes
When my siblings and I were little, my parents got us packaged donuts if we behaved in church, one chocolate and another powdered. Nowadays, I don’t have that many sweets anymore, let alone donuts.
We ate at a local vegan-friendly establishment next to a donut shop with a few vegan options two years ago. The donut shop closed right after eating, and my family thought the store purposely tortured its bystanders by leaving the donut display lights on after closing time. I will never forget the disappointment on their faces, but we ended up getting some treats at Hy-Vee on the way home to make up for that.
Sadly, almost all of the tasty donuts that you see at gas stations, donut shops, and bakeries aren’t vegan.
Why aren’t donuts vegan?
Donuts (aka doughnuts) are similar to many bakery items because they aren’t vegan due to dairy and eggs. Also, some people fry their donuts in lard (pig fat).
Are donuts vegetarian?
Most donuts are vegetarian, except when they are fried in lard. However, most vegetarians restrict themselves to eating no meat, like no chicken in their quesadillas or no pepperoni on a pizza. In other words, they usually are less concerned about lard being in their cooking and baking than vegans are. Please don’t use lard when you make food for both vegetarians and vegans to stay on the safe side.
Here are some vegan donut recipes that you should try today.