50 Vegan Candy Recipes

50 Vegan Candy Recipes
Photo by Bee Felten-Leidel / Unsplash


Candy is an essential part of many holidays, especially Halloween, but most isn’t vegan. Even many Halloween costumes demonstrate animal welfare, from zookeepers to hunters.

Why isn’t most Halloween candy vegan?

Here are some of the many animal-derived ingredients that are in candy. Note that this list isn’t exclusive and has way more ingredients than listed here.

  • Milk (like whey protein, casein, and lactose): Many chocolates
  • Eggs: Some chocolates
  • Gelatin (bone char): A good chunk of regular candy and gum
  • Confectioner’s glaze (shellac): Like jelly beans, Mike & Ike, and candy corn
  • Cochineal (red beetle): i.e., Nerds, Hot Tamales, and Red Hots
  • Most food colorings (animal testing): Most sugary candy

If you want to make some homemade candy, try these vegan candy recipes today, including but not limited to vegan versions of the following.

  1. Twix
  2. Snickers
  3. Watermelon Jellies
  4. Kit Kat
  5. Bounty

Feel free to listen to my Halloween Spotify playlist.

Megan McFadden

Megan McFadden

Megan is the owner of Mischievous Monsters. She has been vegan since March 2017 and likes making jigsaw puzzles, cooking, gardening, watching telenovelas, and biking in her spare time.
United States