20 Vegan S'mores Recipes

As the leaves change colors and the weather gets colder, I’m in the mood for one thing: s’mores. Try these vegan s’mores recipes today.

20 Vegan S'mores Recipes
Photo by Clay Banks / Unsplash


As the leaves change colors and the weather gradually gets colder, I’m in the mood for some s’mores. What about you? Unfortunately, vegans like me usually aren’t able to make s’mores at bonfires and on camping trips because traditional s’more ingredients aren’t vegan.

Why aren’t s’mores usually vegan?

  1. Regular marshmallows are made with gelatin, aka bone char. Gelatin isn’t vegan or vegetarian because you cannot retrieve gelatin without killing animals. If you want some vegan marshmallows, try Dandies marshmallows.
  2. Hershey’s milk chocolate bars contain dairy. This isn’t vegan due to coming from milking cows. A vegan chocolate bar option is No Whey! Foods MILKLESS. Another option is one of Hershey’s new plant-based chocolate bars.
  3. Many graham crackers aren’t vegan because some contain honey. Even though some vegans consider honey vegan, most believe that honey is not vegan because beekeeping harms bees. Try these vegan homemade graham crackers from Pies and Tacos.

If you’re in the mood for some s’mores, try these vegan s’more recipes today, including but not limited to the following.

  1. S’mores Cupcakes
  2. S’mores Pops
  3. S’mores Bars
  4. S’mores Rice Krispie Treats
  5. S’mores Cookies

No Whey! Foods sell a vegan s’more kit seasonally. However, it isn’t that good. Learn more in my fall 2021 seasonal taste test.